INDIA182: Day 166 debrief. . .

A fear crept into me the night before my expected hike up to the place where my spirit was being stirred to. My sleep was a little light and short from the constant thought of whether or not to take such a venture the next day.

I woke up in the morning with such indecisiveness. I guess the reason why there was such an urge of indecisiveness, was because of the tiredness from the climb the day before. As soon as I woke up, I started reasoning with God and asking for more confirmation of whether He really wanted me to go on this climb. It was a hard working 6 hour climb down a mountain and up another mountain with rough terrain so I wasn’t really looking forward to it.

As soon as I woke up, God gave me a verse to confirm it all. I took some preparations before the climb by hiking to the base for some breakfast before starting the 6 hour journey. Again, after the breakfast, there came a fear in me on the much anticipated climb! And I went back to the verse God had given me in the morning:

Jeremiah 6:16 “This is what the Lord says: ‘Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. . .'”

I still had no idea what this meant. I knew that God had wanted me to take the hike for today but didn’t know what asking for the ancient paths mean! It took a while for me to convince myself to leave the base and start the journey. Along the way, I met up with some of the staffs from the base. I told them where I was planning to go and found out that it wasn’t a 6 hour hike at all. The fact was, the path that I took the day before was a path heading to another village far far away! I mentally thanked God at this wonderful revelation and finally found out what the verse meant then! “. . .ask for the ancient paths!” And there I was shaking in my shoes in a hike that I didn’t have to take.

Mercifully, one of the staff planning to head in the same direction walked with me to the crossroads and showed me a clearer direction of how to get there. And immediately, I found rest and a greater peace. It’s truly amazing how God is so faithful in these times and shows it, though we are so much fearful of what’s to come!

Thus the hike/journey begun!

For most of the trip, I had no contact with other humans. (I got to say hi to two of three villagers along the path, and a women chopping branches off while she was on top of the tree on a side of this mountain.) But other than that, it was a quiet walk. I didn’t mind it all though. I truthfully felt so close to God and felt His presence with me the whole way! It was truly amazing! And besides the wonderful view of rolling hills and mountains near and far, the difficult climb up the unbalanced, sometimes iced steps towards the location, and the huge tumble down the mountain if I would happen to trip on a rock and fall, I had such peace and rest the whole time!

As I took this 4 hour climb up and back down. It some how seemed to be a physical representation of my spiritual climb/journey for the last 6 months in India. And through out the whole time, God was showing His faithfulness, joy, and protection for me every step of the way. And the truth was, I never arrived to the destination. I never needed to. God never wanted me to. It was really about the journey and God showing me more of who He is during this time.

It was my last day in Dharamshala. After coming back from the wonderful journey, I eagerly headed back to the base to see if I could give my last goodbyes to the french team and to the staff. Luckily, I made it back just in time for lunch! A couple of us spent some time playing few worship songs, but after some time, I had to forcefully excuse myself, get packed, and head to the city to catch the bus towards Delhi.

A few more cities in the horizon! A wonderful experience here and I’ll will truly miss it all; people, scenery, food, and all!

Prayer requests:

– please pray for this bus trip towards Delhi. May I find rest and peace during this short trip towards my new destination!

– also pray for these last days of my journey here. May God’s grace be ever present in the places I visit and in the people I meet!

– As I leave Dharamshala tonight, please remember to pray for the people here and the tourists that come over to seeking for truth; that they may find the only way truth and life!

 

Much love from India!!

 

20130115-090156.jpg

Leave a Reply

